Sum 41 & Senses Fail // Commodore Ballroom

Oct 28, 2016 - For Daily Hive Vancouver.  Review by Vanessa Tam:

" After a long and hard battle with alcoholism, Sum 41 frontman Derek Whibley returns to the spotlight with a new album and tour. 

Performing now as a five piece band, the Canadian pop-punk rockers started their set with a high energy performance of “The Hell Song” from their second studio album, Does This Look Infected?.

A couple years after his release from hospital, Whibley looks strong and healthy running around on stage playing guitar and belting out the lyrics for tracks spanning the band’s 15 year career and six studio albums.

Visibly ecstatic to be back on stage performing again, he took a couple breaks in between songs to graciously thank his fans and pick out people from the crowd to come on stage and watch the rest of the show from the side stage.

The crowd itself, consisted mostly of fans that seemed to have followed the band since its inception back in 2001. Having been patiently waiting five years for a new album, their high energy clearly shows that the wait was worth it, even though the vocal set up in the sound booth that night was a little lacking.

Flexing their cohesiveness as a band with Whibley on lead vocals and rhythmic guitar, Dave Baksh on guitar, and backup vocals, Tom Thacker on guitar, keyboards, and backup vocals, Jason McCaslin on bass, and backup vocals, and Frank Zummo on drums; they effortlessly snapped in and out of tracks with perfect accuracy and synchronicity.

Highlights from the show included the performances of “Over My Head,” “Underclass,” and “War” which Whibley wrote while in recovery and dedicated to everyone in the building that night."

Sum 41


Sum 41

  1. Introduction of Destruction / Master of Puppets [Metallica sample]
  2. The Hell Song
  3. Over My Head (Better Off Dead)
  4. Fake My Own Death
  5. Underclass Hero
  6. Screaming Bloody Murder
  7. War
  8. Motivation
  9. 88
  10. Paranoid [Black Sabbath cover]
  11. Grab the Devil by the Horns and Fuck Him Up the Ass
  12. There Will Be Blood
  13. We're All to Blame
  14. Walking Disaster
  15. With Me
  16. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
  17. Drum solo
  18. No Reason
  19. We Will Rock You [Queen cover]
  20. Still Waiting
  21. In Too Deep
  22. Pieces [Encore]
  23. 13 Voices [Encore]
  24. Fat Lip [Encore]

Senses Fail

  1. You're Cute When You Scream
  2. Shark Attack
  3. Canine 
  4. Lady in a Blue Dress
  5. Renancer
  6. Wounds
  7. Wolves at the Door
  8. Calling All Cars
  9. Buried a Lie
  10. Rum is for Drinking, Not for Burning
  11. Can't Be Saved
  12. Bite to Break Skin